Friday, March 21, 2008

The Fiery Furnaces

I first saw the The Fiery Furnaces at Bowery Ballroom, opening for some much larger band that I cannot seem to recall. They were great, and I purchased a compact disc from Eleanor, the first of the two posted here. I listened to it and it sounded much different than they did live as it seemed to just be her and a 4 track, or something to that effect anyway.

I saw them again at Luxx a few months later and was introduced to her by our mutual friend Ted. She handed me the second of the discs posted here, and we discussed booking a show together with my band at the time, Cowboys & Indians.

She came to one of our shows soon after but we never ended up getting around to booking that show together. I ran into her a few times on the subway after that but we didn't do much more than exchange pleasantries because we didn't really know each other very well.

A few years go by and her band starts doing very well. I stopped paying attention because that is what I tend to do when bands get more successful. I've never been particularly interested in fighting crowds to see bands that I saw previously at a smaller venue (if that makes me a snob, then so be it). The two compact discs remain in my collection, mostly unnoticed until I start my current job. I have my own office and can listen to music whilst I work, so I slowly started bringing in compact discs from home and ripping them to my computer.

I think you can see where I'm going with this. I believe I very quickly fell in love with both and was forced to rush out and purchase whatever else was available at the time, which I believe was Gallowsbird's Bark and Blueberry Boat.

Ladies and gentlemen, for your listening pleasure, 2 compact discs recordable by The Fiery Furnaces.

FF (Self)
1. Leaky Tunnel
2. Gale Blow
3. South Is Only A Home
4. Don't Dance Her Down
5. Don't You Hurry, Worry With Me
6. Skinny We're Mean
7. Single Again

4 Song Demo (Self)
1. South Is Only A Home
2. Inca Rag/Name Game
3. Leaky Tunnel
4. Don't Dance Her Down

No comments: