Thursday, September 10, 2009

Teengirl Fantasy

"We were driving all night on tour to New York at some point this past spring in a car that had an old box of cassettes that had been passed down from our friend Ted.  The stereo + windshield wipers didn't work, so we were just listening to tapes on a portable radio driving through the rain.... we found this one unmarked black cassette that had an incredible mix on it.  The listening experience was so euphoric that we later ended up sampling two of the songs on it to write 'Hollywood Hils' and 'Love Don't Live Here'. We didn't initially write these songs with the intention of one being an A-side or B-side, or of them sharing a unified theme, but after recording the demos we realized that this was going to be our heartbreak 12". Both tracks in their own ways are about tears on the dancefloor, about being happy and sad about the world at the same time while dancing in a group of people who most likely feel the same way as you.

The artwork for the single was made by our friends Camilla Padgitt-Coles and Hilary Zarabi-Azam (Hilary's voice also appears on 'Hollywood Hils', hence the name of the track). Together they hand made 100 covers, each one different and unique."

Ladies and gentlemen, for your listening pleasure, Teengirl Fantasy.

Hollywood Hils EP (Pukekos)
1. Hollywood Hils
2. Love Don't Live Here
3. Hollywood Hils (Demo)
4. Love Don't Live Here (Demo)

1 comment:

Guillaume said...

Great concept, perfect sounds. I'll pick one!