Wednesday, December 9, 2009

The Mahavishnu Orchestra

When I listen to this record (and I have been listening to it daily), I tend to make jazz faces and pump my fist in the air. Sweet jesus, these are some guitar solos to blow yr mind.

I paid approximately two dollars for this album. I tried to calculate the number of notes per cent that is, but smoke started coming out of my ears.

Oh yeah -- John McLaughlin also played guitar on Bitches Brew.

My good friend Alice Cohen saw them tour on this album in 1971. They opened for Hot Tuna, who apparently "sucked".

Ladies and gentlemen, for your listening pleasure, The Mahavishnu Orchestra.

The Inner Mounting Flame (Columbia)

1. Meetings Of The Spirit
2. Dawn
3. The Noonward Race
4. A Lotus On Irish Streams
5. Vital Transformation
6. The Dance Of Maya
7. You Know You Know
8. Awakening


cnjnctvsynth said...

Pumping my fists right now. I wore out my tape of this album. Thanks for reminding me of this.

Resto In Ascolto said...

Hi, I'm from Italy. Thank's for all this great music. I dedicated you a post in my blog. Thank's a lot

Arthur Rambo said...

It's great to hear this album again. Years ago, my dad turned me on to John Mclaughlin when I was in the middle of my first Zappa/Mothers phase. Thanks!